Talk

Advanced search

8 week old baby and no sleep

(15 Posts)
Sophie4 Tue 02-Apr-13 10:27:12

Hi, I'm new to this so you will have to bare with me.

I've got a nearly 8 week old son and we are really struggling to get him to sleep at night. During the day he will have about a 3 hour nap between half 1 and 4ish. When he's tired he will sleep and there is no waking him up, during the day. At night is another thing, he just will not settle until 2 or 3 o'clock in the morning. He won't take a bottle, I try winding him, changing his nappy, he doesn't have a temp, just can't work out what is wrong with him. It is so draining and starting to put a huge strain on mine and partners relationship because we are so tired! He works long hours and I feel as if he looks forward to going to work to get away from the constant crying (although he says he doesn't). I've tried starting him with a routine of bath about 8 and then last bottle about half 9 in the low light. Feel like I'm wasting my time to be honest. I'm doing my best to be the best mum I can to my little boy but feel like its not enough and that I'm failing both him and his Dad.

If anybody has any suggestions they would be REALLY appreciated!! Thankyou.

funchum8am Tue 02-Apr-13 11:27:47

We had similar, dd is now 6 months and would sleep all afternoon but be up from around midnight onwards no matter what. In our case we didn't try for a proper routine til 3 months as lots of friends (plus mumsnetters) said it would be unlikely to work before then. I just resigned myself to staying up feeding and holding her so she was quiet so DH could sleep. I was exhausted for a few days but soon you find you can actually function on very little sleep as long as you get the odd nap. DH took her from 5am to 7am so I always got that stretch...not sure if that is workable for you? Unfortunately it might well just be a matter of time sad. huge hugs!

halestone Tue 02-Apr-13 11:42:48