Talk

Advanced search

How can I help my fiancé?

(11 Posts)
AdamNewDad Tue 08-Jan-13 12:30:33

Hi everyone, apologies I'm using this when I'm not technically a mum but I need the help of the other mothers out there.

My fiancé recent gave birth to our baby boy on the 5th of Jan after being induced due to waters breaking but no baby coming.

Recently I've found her crying to herself away from me. I don't think it's the baby blues as she's great with the boy and hasn't lost her temper or anything.

She's in a bit of pain below and her boobs are tight and sore so I know that's making her feel worse. Other than just helping do you guys have any advice on anything else I can do? Or any signs I should be looking out for to make sure it's not worse than I think?

Thanks for any help you can give!

AndMiffyWentToSleep Tue 08-Jan-13 12:35:12

Congratulations!
3 days old - so her boobs will be sore as her milk comes in and her hormones will be going crazy - classic time for baby blues (getting weepy, emotional etc), which is totally normal and not to be confused with PND.
Be there for her - as it sounds like you are - relieve her of all chores bar feeding baby and try and encourage her to nap when she can.
Good luck!

quoteunquote Tue 08-Jan-13 12:39:31

Don't apologise this site is miss named, there is a special dads bit, but full of tumble weeds,there are loads of dads on here anyway,

Keep reassuring her that most mums feel like this at this point it's perfectly normal, those pesky hormones are just doing their thing, it will pass and if not, there is some brilliant help out there,

just hold that baby as much as possible and be as hands on as you can, feed her lots of health food, and tell her how much you love her.

whatdoithinknow Tue 08-Jan-13 12:47:49