Talk

Advanced search

Working parents. Is it always you who picks up your dc?

(83 Posts)
orangeandlemons Thu 27-Sep-12 18:08:01

And are you pissed off with it.

Just wondered, dh and I both work. I'm a teacher, and I always have to pick yp dd. I have been on my feet for 9 hours by the time I pick her up, and just want to sit down for an hour.

But instead I have to rush home from work, collect her, do the whole teatime frenzy thing on my own. Dp works a long way off so can't get home in time (but he manages to sneak off early to go to the gym one day a weekhmm)

Just wondered if I was being a miserable cow, but I would just like someone else to do it sometimes

Trazzletoes Thu 27-Sep-12 18:09:30

Me too. Feeling your pain.

WofflingOn Thu 27-Sep-12 18:12:26

Never, I'm a teacher too and it was either OH or my DM who did the collection.
I usually left/leave school between 5 and 6, which was way too unfair on a child I thought. But I think any parent who has a long working day faces the same dilemma of being shattered at the end of work and having to keep going.
You could send her to a childminder after school if you want a break.

picturesinthefirelight Thu 27-Sep-12 18:14:39

It's always me except for Fridays when I work late so it's my patents. Dh is a teacher in a school 40 miles away & he doesn't finish until 6.30pm.

orangeandlemons Thu 27-Sep-12 18:16:04

I pick her up at 5.00. I don't want to leave her later than that, as I think it's late enough. She's at a childminders until then.

I dread the picking up and teatime thing. She is not an easy child at the best of times, but hungry and tired she is a nightmare...and it's always me that has to field it.

If I suggest to Dh that he tries he just gives me a load of grief about how stressful it is when I ask him if he can do it, beacuse he can't

rubyslippers Thu 27-Sep-12 18:17:07

Yes I do

Pretty much been me as DH works long and late hours