Talk

Advanced search

Bedtime routine for 7 week old with Colic?

(10 Posts)
Tink1987 Mon 30-Apr-12 18:04:14

Hello smile My little one is bottle fed and feeds on demand, the times can vary each day for her bottles and she isnt in any set routine for feeding. Was anyones little ones in a set routine for feeding at this age?

She also gets colicky around 7:30pm at night. I try to bath her each night at around 7pm and then wait for the next bottle (after the colic goes) She currently stays downstairs with us until we go up to bed, usually around 10pm! Im wanting to put her up to bed on her own in our room with the monitors on although I keep thinking its going to be tough to do this due to the colic and not being in a set routine for bottle feeding. What did everyone else do around this age? What would you say was a suitable time for bed for a 7 week old?
Id be very greatful for any help.
Thanks
Vicky and Amelia xx

benne81 Mon 30-Apr-12 18:56:29

I am no expert but I can tell you want I did with my DS. At about 8-9weeks I noticed he was getting tired at about the same time (10pm) so I started doing the bath followed by feed at 9.30pm for a week. The next week (so when he was around 10weeks) I changed the bath to 6pm and then put him in bed from 7 after a feed. It took him a couple of weeks to get used to it but then he was sorted with a 7pm bedtime & I get the evening to myself. Every baby is different though!

Octaviapink Tue 01-May-12 07:56:52

She's too little to have a routine at this point (their brains can't make memories at this age so any routine is more for your benefit than theirs). Both mine were downstairs in the evenings with us until about 12 weeks - then things started getting a bit more settled in the evenings. Colic has usually disappeared by then too so evenings are generally easier.

CharlotteBronteSaurus Tue 01-May-12 08:02:20

couldn't achieve a routine with either of my colicky babies before about 3 months