Talk

Advanced search

having only one child

(34 Posts)
ottawagirl Thu 29-Sep-11 21:56:38

Hello, as someone who only wanted one child I am starting to feel a bit selfish about my decision and I am worried about how this will impact on my 4-year old. Are there any chatrooms, support groups, forums out there that anyone knows of to support those of us with only one child? Out of 60 children in my child's year at school there are only two other singletons. I often feel looked down upon by other mothers and am treated as someone who couldn't possibly understand what being a mother is as I have only gone through it all once. And I can't even count the number of times I get asked "Have you ONLY got the one then?" as if this is some sort of failing on my part. I would really like to feel better about my decision which was for very personal reasons and maybe find some people who are experiencing something similar. Thanks. Oh yeah -- I am new to Mumsnet and I have no idea about the abbreviations. Half the time I can't even understand the posts!

Hulababy Thu 29-Sep-11 22:01:38

http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/one_child_families - This is the section of Mumsnet that has lots of threads about being a parent to one child.

FWIW I am mum to an only child, 9y DD. It wasn't particulalry through choice but it is the eay it is now and likely to always be. But I can honestly say that my DD is happy, well rounded, sciable and happy. She has lots of close friends and has a great relationship with her little cousins.

There's nothing selfish about only having one child, regardless of the reason.

Even if you had another child there is no guarantee they would be friends or play together.

Hulababy Thu 29-Sep-11 22:01:48

www.mumsnet.com/Talk/one_child_families

helpmabob Thu 29-Sep-11 22:02:51