Talk

Advanced search

Still sleep deprived with 18 month old, dont know how much more i can take? please help!

(12 Posts)
STIGZ Sun 07-Aug-11 17:26:46

Hi everyone,

will try & make this short and sweet and any suggestions at all would so appreciated!

My DD who is 18 months has never been a great sleeper, she had acid reflux until 7 months old so basically 4 nights out seven she would end up in bed with me and my partner.

This is now the case 18 months on and I think its a comfort thing now, my partner drives for a living and i am a nursery teacher who has to be on the ball all day at work, i am absolutly shattered to the point of exhaustion, i also have low iron stores regularly which doesnt help!!

Cannot sleep with her in bed beside us anymore as she is getting so big and her arms and legs are everywhere, I normally get punched and kicked so much that i end sleeping on the couch.

I would say we get one night out of seven if we are lucky where she will sleep right through till the morning, it seems to be once she has been sleeping for four and half hours she will wake up, sometimes she goes straight back to sleep once she is in beside us and then other times she will be awake for 3 hours before she nods off again.

I hope someone can give me some advice on this as me and DP relationship is beginning to suffer.

thank you

fantus Sun 07-Aug-11 19:12:03

Sorry to hear you are having such a hard time - sleep deprivation is a killer, I know. My DD is 16 months now and was a complete shock to the system, only started sleeping through (and definately not regularly) at 12 months. Last night she was up between 1am and 3am. This was after having DS who slept through from 3 months!