Talk

Advanced search

All advice appreciated. Kids are causing the break up of my relationship

(18 Posts)
SeriouslyStressedmum123 Sun 19-Jun-11 00:59:50

Hi all,

I am new to this so I really appreciate any advice. I am the mum to a 2 year old daughter and one year old son, however I am also step mum to a 6 year old son. At the start of my relationship neither myself or my partner knew of his sons existence, we only found out about him when he was aged 2 and we were just over a year into our relationship having gotten engaged and bought our home. Although it was a shock I loved him and decided to try work at this new relationship and I grew to love his son who gave me the confidence to believe I could be a mum. However, everything changed when I gave birth to our daughter, I felt the need to protect her all the time and although I still made an effort with my partners son full focus was no longer on him. Our son arrived shortly after and further tensions arose. I try everything in my power to include/involve and show love to my stepson when he stays (every weekend) but as he is an only child Monday to Friday he doesn't seem to understand the concept of sharing or that I have to give attention to my other children ie if I praise my son for taking a step, he will stand in front of me jumping up and down shouting that he can run really fast.

Also, when he stays over my normally well behaved daughter turns into a nightmare lashing out, temper tantrums and defying me which she never does.

My partner escapes to the shops/ on the phone/ work or any other reason he can think of at every available opportunity leaving me with the three of them on my own the majority of the time of his son stay. Also he agrees with his sons mother for him to stay over no matter what including when he has to work knowing I will pick up the slack.