Talk

Advanced search

urgent help needed- terrible twos just too terrible!

(35 Posts)
alexsmum Sun 13-Nov-05 22:49:11

My previously delightful two year old has hit the terrible twos with a god almighty crash and I have found myself stumbling around in the wreckage, wondering where MY child has got to, who is this monster who is is hanging around the house screaming, and what has happened to my life.
This week he has screamed over having his coat on, having his coat off, ditto shoes, and all other clothing.He has screamed about being in the pram and also about walking, about going to bed, eating,drinking, etc etc etc.Every aspect of his day basically. I am at the end of my tether and am really struggling to know how to handle this.My older child was NEVER like this and so i'm a newbie at this whole thing.Any advice would be gratefully received....before tomorrow comes and the whole thing starts up again!

Shazzler Sun 13-Nov-05 22:51:36

Distraction, bribery, counting to 3 to get them to do what you want.

Or just go into hiding for a few years

Chandra Sun 13-Nov-05 22:52:26

Get the Super Nanny book, it has been a god's send to us

Best of luck and lots of lots of patience.

alexsmum Sun 13-Nov-05 22:55:09

the distraction thing has never worked with him- he would always just grab whatever you were using to distract him and throw it. It is literally over everything...

meggymoo Sun 13-Nov-05 22:57:17

Message withdrawn

Nemo1977 Sun 13-Nov-05 23:00:36

dont do counting to 3 my ds winds me up more and he is only 2.1yrs. I tell him he as to 3 and as soon as I say one he goes two three whheeee mummy...grr
I use time out and a reward chart

QueenVictoria Sun 13-Nov-05 23:01:06

Supernanny is pretty good actually.