Talk

Advanced search

What's for lunch today? Take inspiration from Mumsnetters' tried-and-tested recipes in our Top Bananas! cookbook - now under £10

Find out more

Advice Regarding Nappy, Wipe & Toiletry Brands

(21 Posts)
SianFirstTimeMum Thu 26-May-11 08:58:52

Good morning everyone,
My name is Sian and I am new to mumsnet. I have joined in the hopes of finding some advice regarding brands. I am 25 weeks pregnant with my first baby, who is also the first baby in our family since I was born and also the first baby in my circle of friends, so I have nobody to ask for advice!

I am wanting to start shopping for nappies, wipes and toiletries for my baby, but I don't know which brands to buy.

Could you advise me please on your preferred brand on nappies, wipes, shampoo, body wash etc for a newborn baby.

Many thanks

x Sian x

cadifflur Thu 26-May-11 10:44:20

Hi, hope your pregnancy is going well and you're enjoying your bump! - Stocking up in advance is a good idea, but you might find your baby doesn't suit a certain brand and you're left with stuff you can't use. And a lot depends on your personal preferences - e.g. how eco friendly you want to be etc. My earth mother tendencies went into overdrive when pg with DS, I bought reusable nappies, wanted to save the planet etc. Then discovered said reusable would be too big for newborn, so got pampers newborn nappies, used them for a couple of months, then alternated with nature nappies in the day, pampers at night, as found pampers more absorbent. Sold the resuables on ebay! When DD came along, it was pampers all the way, as the lure of asda's special offers on them was too much with 2 DCs in nappies for a while, and the cost of nature nappies was too much. When pg with DD, I knew I'd use pampers, so was able to stock up over the months on the first few sizes whenever they had offers on. (I love pampers nappies, but other mums will say they prefer huggies, boots own, supermarket own etc.)