Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

should i stay or should I go

(10 Posts)
TwinSetAndPearls Mon 25-Jul-05 11:18:45

As you may have seen from my other thread i live in a town which I don't like, I have struggled to make friends here and many of my weekends are spent in tears as i feel trapped. This is placing a strain on dp and I relationship and turning me into someone I don't really like.

I have convinced dp that we should move and he is looking for work, but I have been up all night worrying.

I am a trained teacher who stopped work when she became pregnant as the stress of the school environment was making me ill. I had to fight to get out of my contract and I am not sure if I woudl get a good reference. I then had a series of health problems which resulted in me being hospitalised for three months. With my medical record I doubt I would walk straight back into a job. Having dd has enabled me to hide my illness as I can claim that I left work to be at home with her rather than because I was ill. However my hospital admission is on my record and can't be disguised.

I now work p/t for a charity and they have made it clear that when dd goes to school they want to give me full time work. If I move I will have to build up my reputation from scratch and they may not wish to see beyond my health record. Should I stay somewhere that I am unhappy because it will enable me to get back on the career ladder so that in a few years I can move hvaing got back into work, with a good referencer under my belt. Or should I take a chance and say well you managed to rebuild your repuatation here so you could do it anywhere and move to somewhere I would feel personally happier.

THanks

kid Mon 25-Jul-05 11:21:25

As a trained teacher, couldn't you do angency work? I definatley wouldn't stay somewhere if I was unhappy just so I could work.

TwinSetAndPearls Mon 25-Jul-05 11:24:52