Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

HELP: Child Psychology student wants to observe mother and toddler -

(22 Posts)
bellow Mon 04-Jul-05 13:30:18

Hi, I hope this is the appropriate space to place this request. My sister who lives between Muswell-Hill and Highgate is specialising in Child Psychology and as part of her course she needs to observe a child (between 2 and 4) interacting with the mum for 1 hour a week for a year. She is willing to join the mum and child at a playgroup or wherever, and she is willing to travel, as long as it is in London. Anybody interested?

Nemo1977 Mon 04-Jul-05 13:36:14

I would love to do it but unfortunately am upnorth

flashingnose Mon 04-Jul-05 13:38:16

Would love to do this (remember my sister doing this as part of a course) but am not in London. Keep bumping this thread as I'm sure there's someone on here who can help

QueenOfQuotes Mon 04-Jul-05 14:22:02

another 'would love to do it' but too far away as well (oh and kids arre the 'wrong' age - one's slightly too young, the slightly too old)

Bump for anyone else that might be interested.

NotQuiteCockney Mon 04-Jul-05 14:26:51

I've helped a social worker with this sort of thing before. My DS1 is turning 4 in September, and I live in Mile End. If that's no good, I suggest she visit her local playgroups and get help from them? That's how the social worker found me.

bellow Mon 04-Jul-05 14:58:50

Thank you, will keep bumping. Nquitcockney I suspect your ds is alrady too old, but will check with my sister tomorrow. She wants to start the observations in September. Anybody in leafy highgate/crouch end?

QueenOfQuotes Mon 04-Jul-05 16:14:24

bump again

Kelly1978 Mon 04-Jul-05 16:15:36

I've got a three year old, but I guess Croydon is too far?

hub2dee Mon 04-Jul-05 17:03:37

Maybe if you start a new thread with muswell hill / highgate / hampstead etc. in the title, or approach people who do meet ups in / near that area you might have more luck ?

HTH

lockets Mon 04-Jul-05 17:05:30

Message withdrawn

bellow Mon 04-Jul-05 17:36:03

Thanks a lot. Both Earlsfield and Croydon sound far - but I will double check with her. Will start a new thread to target north london parents. Thanks a lot.

hub2dee Mon 04-Jul-05 17:46:03

day after tomorrow, lockets ! 4:30 in the afternoon, just in time for tea

Am clearing out cupboards and tidying like a mad man. Mild nesting, LOL.

hub2dee Mon 04-Jul-05 17:46:35

BTW, good luck in your search bellow.

lockets Mon 04-Jul-05 17:48:54

Message withdrawn

hub2dee Mon 04-Jul-05 18:11:46

Morphette for a girl, Morpheus for a boy.

Yeah, pretty much settled on a name. I discussed it on MN briefly a few weeks ago. It's a French name, which is pronounced differently in English so whilst dw is fine with it (and I'm the frog), I wonder if a more 'universally pronounceable' name would be better.... dw thinks it's sorted, I think we've got 46 days to register, LOL. Doubtless dw will win !

Sax Mon 04-Jul-05 18:23:20

Hey Hub, don't forget to think of what the intitials spell!!!!!! All the best to you and Dee!

sax

bellow Tue 05-Jul-05 14:15:58

bump

bellow Tue 05-Jul-05 21:23:47

bump again

bellow Thu 07-Jul-05 09:57:29

i will carry on bumping this in case there is anybody who lives closer to north london

bellow Sun 10-Jul-05 21:02:11

Thanks to all of you who are interested in this - spoke to my sister, cannot travel down south, really needs something in north London, sorry! Hopefully somebody else will be interested.

edam Sun 10-Jul-05 21:05:43

Bellow, if your sister can travel north of London itself I'd be happy to help. I'm just north of St Albans - it's 25 mins from King's Cross on Thameslink. My ds is very, very nearly 2.

bellow Sun 10-Jul-05 22:13:09

Sorry Edam, tooo far. Should have specified - for north london she means around the highgate/hornsey/etc area. Thank you anyway.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now