Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

so i went to the dr's today - and he set a stopwatch!

(25 Posts)
solongpumpkin Mon 02-Nov-09 16:54:26

i went to the dr's today, not one i'd seen before but seemed pleasant enough. he seemed to glance at his watch and press something at the start of my consultation only for it to bleep towards the end!

Bloody hell, i work in healthcare so know time is precious but would not set a stop clock on a patient shock

displayuntilbestbefore Mon 02-Nov-09 16:57:44

I'm quite heartened to hear that TBH - yes, rather off-putting for you but at least he's making an effort not to over-run on appt times. I can't count the number of times I've been left waiting for a doc who is running behind by 3 or more patients!

Mcdreamy Mon 02-Nov-09 17:00:28

Could he be a trainee GP? I know they have to video consultations and timing is very strict. If it goes over theu can't use it but he would have to have your permission first so I guess you would have known that.

Maybe his weakness is clinics running late? He's had a complaint about it? Or maybe he just wants an idea of when 10 mins is up? Did he chuck you out at the end of the 10mins?

solongpumpkin Mon 02-Nov-09 17:02:58

Really?? Would you be ok with it? Just thinking how i behave towards my patients (sometimes i am literally running around trying to get everything done) and to say to some elderly lady 'Sorry love, you've had your 5 mins, time to move on' would be pretty unpleasant for her.

Or maybe I just looked like the type that might waffle blush

solongpumpkin Mon 02-Nov-09 17:04:36

We were nearly done but it made me acutely aware that it was time to leave so i probably would have anyway. i think he probably could have been a bit more subtle.

bruxeur Mon 02-Nov-09 17:10:20

How?

displayuntilbestbefore Mon 02-Nov-09 17:14:19