Advanced search

Best legal download site?

(33 Posts)
Tissy Wed 08-Jun-05 20:27:11

I'm a downloading novice but have recently started to download a few tunes via Limewire. Got a bit scared by a feature on the news this evening about a woman who has been hit with a bill for £2500 after her son used her computer to download mp3 files.

My question is, which is the best LEGAL download site? I don't want any "young people's" music- I'm primarily interested in oldies and making compilations of children's music for dd to listen to in the car- any recommendations?

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:38:43

winmx is great its free and has everything but cant do links sorry!

ScrewballMuppet Wed 08-Jun-05 20:50:37

does that mean you can download as much as you want and you won't get charged a penny?

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:51:12

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:51:35

it does vids/pics/music its called

ScrewballMuppet Wed 08-Jun-05 20:53:48

WOW free music am speechless

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:54:50

yeah i thought that ive had it for ages and it hasnt been closed down yet. i think its legal becasue you downlad them off other people connected to the net not of companys or anything its really good you can literally get anything!

GaylordFocker Wed 08-Jun-05 20:55:20

try this for downloading WinMX

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:55:24 i think if not google it

charleepeters Wed 08-Jun-05 20:56:49

gallordfocker great name! i just brought meet the fockers/meet the parents on double dvd!

GaylordFocker Wed 08-Jun-05 20:56:49

put it this way if it is illegal, dh and I will go to prison and we've downloaded stacks of singles/albums...if it's available it shouldn't be illegal imho.

SaintGeorge Wed 08-Jun-05 20:58:21

Pretty sure WinMX isn't legal.

GaylordFocker Wed 08-Jun-05 20:59:02

isn't it????????

SaintGeorge Wed 08-Jun-05 21:02:03