Talk

Advanced search

Funny driving test stories!!

(14 Posts)
welshone51 Thu 03-Sep-09 14:33:49

Hi all I have recently passed my driving test on my 8th attempt! All of my previous driving tests didnt go at all well- I think on my 2nd test I failed on 5 things!! My 6th test was a disaster too at one point the driving examiner had to grab the wheel- oops!! Also on that test I did all the moving off checks without starting the engine!! I am a competent driver now IMO and think the majority of the mistakes I made on the tests were due to sheer panic and nerves.
Has anyone else got any funny driving test stories??? grin

NeverLeapfrogOverAUnicorn Thu 03-Sep-09 21:36:27

Well, I drove 40 in a 30 and my examiner had to point it out. And then I was at a traffic light controlled crossroads and the lights went green and I moved forward and turned right - and a car nearly smashed into the front passenger side. Guess who'd forgotten that the lights were also green for the cars ahead? blush

Needless to say - I failed.

Oh - and I failed to spot a cyclist and nearly hit him. I forgot about that one.

Still, I passed 2nd time with only 3 minor faults. - 2 slightly wobbly on a roundabout (hand controls ffs!!) and one because I went slightly closer to a parked car than she would have liked.

hurumph.

branflake81 Fri 04-Sep-09 15:27:24

I changed lanes without checking my mirror and crashed into a van

I got crashed into from behind at a roundabout (not my fault)

I drove too close to parked cars and the examinier had to grab the wheel

I came sailing down a hill and slammed into a kerb

On my very first test I was so nervous I read out the number plate wrongly during the sight test

I couldn't open the bonnet for the technical questions.

I tried to set off with the hand brake on

I took seven tests, although I can laugh about it now it wasn't very funny at the time!

ThisBoyDerekDrew Fri 04-Sep-09 15:29:36