Ideas for stalls at school fete????

(42 Posts)
KBear Fri 13-May-05 18:32:57

I'm new to this PTA lark and need some bright ideas from the experts. What's a money-spinner, what is doomed to fail, what do the kids love, what is a waste of time? Also I need tips on asking local businesses to donate prizes or sponsorship. Thanks everyone!

Tinker Fri 13-May-05 18:34:35

Bottle and chocolate tombolas always have queues.

compo Fri 13-May-05 18:34:51

definitely need a cake stall. Kids love those big bins full of wrapped presents and shredded paper - usually you pay btw 10p and 50p and delve in for a pressie - is that called a tombola?!

compo Fri 13-May-05 18:35:20

mums might like a plant stall

MarsLady Fri 13-May-05 18:36:52

Lucky envelopes.

£1 an envelope. 1 in 5 chance of winning with the prizes being worth a minimum of £5. This is a great way to use up the museum vouchers and the small gifts from shops!

You need plain envelopes. You write/type on a small slip of paper what the prize is or sorry you have not won this time. Put paper in envelope and seal. So 4X sorry envelopes for every 1X you have won envelope.

It's an instant profit maker and very popular with the adults.

Tinker Fri 13-May-05 18:37:23

That's a Bran Tub (?) compo.

PuffTheMagicDragon Fri 13-May-05 18:37:52

Face Painting. Must be staffed by at least 2 people. Charge £1 a time. Limit the choices of faces to be done to 4 (special requests take too long).

soapbox Fri 13-May-05 18:39:00

The biggest seller at my DCs Christmas fair was a tattoo stall.

Chuldren paid £1 for a stick on tattoo thingy. They were queuing back for miles

The face painting stall was a hit too!

PuffTheMagicDragon Fri 13-May-05 18:39:17

Bouncy Castle - always made a good profit over and above the cost of hiring it.

Tinker Fri 13-May-05 18:39:41

Hook a duck thing for little kids. Everyone gets a prize, usually a lollipop

LGJ Fri 13-May-05 18:42:46

Crockery Alley