Talk

Advanced search

horses dont know if this is sport but...

(29 Posts)
chloeb2002 Sun 20-Mar-05 18:40:42

DD got a shetland pony from santa... not as flash as that sounds.... As well as being an overworked student nurse I am also a riding instructor and hence the link... however just wondered if anyone else out there has a pony/ or small person who rides? I want to break the small pony into harness to pull a little cart... any advice? About the only equestrian thing I have never done before!

blessima Sun 20-Mar-05 19:09:52

chloe... dd age 7 has a section A.
tbh I would probably be reluctant to break him for harness as friends have said it can make them a little too forward for little ones!

princesspeahead Sun 20-Mar-05 19:21:48

Chloe, there is a thread on breaking a shetland on the wonderfully named "saddle up" site - look here . Looks quite useful!
There is also a good book called Breaking and Training the Driving Horse by Doris Ganton which is american but I think you can get on amazon (the people who own the big livery stable in our village do a lot of driving and this book is always floating about, dog eared and covered in manure - well used though).

My daughter is pestering for a pony - she is just 7 (yesterday!), been riding for only 6 months (weekly), currently riding 13.2 off the lead rein, doing a nice rising trot, steering well, but I wouldn't say totally in control at all times. I prefer her on a 12.2 but she loves this particular pony at the riding school. Do you think 7 is too young for a pony? My instinct is that I should leave it a year until she is more competant and that little bit older but I'd be interested to know what you (and others) think....

princesspeahead Sun 20-Mar-05 19:26:48

sorry this is the same link but to a better version of the thread with pictures etc (the other link was just to plain text version)

JanH Sun 20-Mar-05 20:42:45