Talk

Advanced search

Fishy business - anyone keep marine fish as a hobby??

(22 Posts)
Bradsmum Fri 11-Mar-05 22:19:51

Very strange thread I know.. but does anyone do it? I fancy a fishy hobby and am interested if anyone on mumsnet dabbles in marines??

Branster Fri 11-Mar-05 22:23:23

no, but perhaps you can contribute on my thread on 'wanted'?!

Toothache Fri 11-Mar-05 22:24:43

I have a gold fish that is now 8 years old and about the size of a small family car. I studied Marine Biology at Uni.... does that count?

I'd LOVE a tropical fish tank.

Toothache Fri 11-Mar-05 22:25:42

And obviously when I say a Tropical fish tank... I mean one filled with water.... and tropical fish! I've had a drink tonight... please bear with me.

Bradsmum Fri 11-Mar-05 22:31:29

Hi Toothache - I've had several (glasses of wine that is). Have also kept tropical fish for years but want to try marine fish. Am absolutely nuts anyway so a wacky hobby would suit me fine...

Branster Fri 11-Mar-05 22:32:54

what's the difference between marine 7 tropical fish? just curious

ionesmum Fri 11-Mar-05 22:33:11

Wow - my dd would LOVE this!

Bradsmum Fri 11-Mar-05 22:35:23

Tropical are freshwater fishies which need to be kept in warm water (as opposed to goldfish). Marine fish are saltwater fishies (e.g. Nemo - a clown fish) and are more difficult to keep because you have to make up the saltwater (and all sorts of other things)

Toothache Fri 11-Mar-05 22:35:27

Branster - Tropical fish need warm water, like those from coral reefs and shallow warm coastal regions. Marine fish are more..... well.... ugly!! But much more of a challenge to keep alive.

Toothache Fri 11-Mar-05 22:38:08

Bradsmum - there is a campaign at the moment to stop people buying clownfish like Nemo as the increase in popularity since the film was released has seriously effected the population in the wild! So if you are going for a Nemo.... make sure it's a home grown one.