Talk

Advanced search

RUNNERS!!! what do you run in.. when it's rainy or cold?

(20 Posts)
MascaraOHara Wed 10-Sep-08 09:20:25

I'm fairly new to running. This will be my first winter..

I don't want to give up and I'm thinking of cancelling my gym membership so if anything want to increase my running.

but what do I need? I can't afford loads of expensive stuff. Should I make a big investment in a lightweight waterproof jacket? and just wear gloves?

do I need a hat etc

Sorry, I am compeltely clueless.

Thank you

MascaraOHara Wed 10-Sep-08 11:03:02

bump

NotQuiteCockney Wed 10-Sep-08 11:07:09

You don't need much, particularly if you can warm up before you go out, iyswim.

What part of the country are you in?

I'm in London, and I wear running tights (sometimes), a tshirt, and my cycling jacket (which is v lightweight, more of a windbreaker, really). Oh, and a hat. While running, I often take off the hat and the jacket.

MutantSpaceGoat Wed 10-Sep-08 11:09:25

what nqc said, right down to the cycling jacket bit! except i do wear gloves in winter.

aldi and lidl do good cheapo running stuff and cycle jackets.

MascaraOHara Wed 10-Sep-08 11:11:35

REally? what are running tights?

Also I really feel the cold

I was thinking windbreaker style jacket would be essential but do you need a 'decent' one to avoid getting excessively sticky with sweat?

MascaraOHara Wed 10-Sep-08 11:11:36

REally? what are running tights?

Also I really feel the cold

I was thinking windbreaker style jacket would be essential but do you need a 'decent' one to avoid getting excessively sticky with sweat?

LargeHadronCollider Wed 10-Sep-08 11:13:57

Keep an eye on Tchibo every week too - they sometimes have stuff like this at good prices.

MutantSpaceGoat Wed 10-Sep-08 11:14:33

my cycling jacket is a good one but about a million years old. it has zips under teh armpits for 'ventilation'. i only wear it if it is raining otherwise i wear a fleece until i warm up.