Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

a laminator question ...

(23 Posts)
treacletart Wed 16-Feb-05 21:01:52

I've got a box of paper "things" cut out of magazines and cheapo picture books, animals, foodstuffs, transport etc. Originally I'd intended to put them all in a scrapbook, but my DS (19m) seems to have so much fun with them loose. I'd like to make them less fragile. I've never used a laminator before, but is it possible to laminate irregular shapes? Or does anyone have any (easy) ideas as to how I can make them more durable?

purpleturtle Wed 16-Feb-05 21:03:40

dh says you can't laminate irregular shapes. What about good old-fashioned sticky-backed-plastic?

pixiefish Wed 16-Feb-05 21:04:07

so long as it fits into the pouch you can laminate any shape (apart for 3d)

Yorkiegirl Wed 16-Feb-05 21:04:32

Message withdrawn

purpleturtle Wed 16-Feb-05 21:05:51

do you have to stick with the size of the pouch? I asked dh [passing the buck emoticon] and he said you couldn't trim it down to an irregular shape (which is what I had assumed you'd want to do)

Yorkiegirl Wed 16-Feb-05 21:06:49

Message withdrawn

pixiefish Wed 16-Feb-05 21:07:22

if you've got a star shape that's smaller than the a4 pouch then just put in pouch, laminaste aznd then cut around leaving about 1mm border

purpleturtle Wed 16-Feb-05 21:07:53

resolving not to share dh's pearls of 'wisdom' in future.

treacletart Wed 16-Feb-05 21:09:27

I guess what I'd need to do is put as many shapes as possible in the pouch and then trim them once laminated, is that possible? Sticky backed plastic could be an option - guess I'm worried it won't have the same "rigidity" iyswim...

treacletart Wed 16-Feb-05 21:10:44

Cool! thanks girls!

Yorkiegirl Wed 16-Feb-05 21:10:57

Message withdrawn

treacletart Wed 16-Feb-05 21:15:39

sorry, just discussing this with DH ... Could I do lots of things in the one pouch?

treacletart Wed 16-Feb-05 21:16:39

Cheers Yorkiegirl (posts crossed)