Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Chocolates for the nursery staff on valentines, is it acceptable?

(14 Posts)
Chandra Sun 13-Feb-05 13:06:48

Well, I was not around during December and January so... I just send a general Christmas card addressed to all the staff in the nursery rather than individual ones or gifts . I was thinking in making up for that by sending a box of chocolates tomorrow (as a thank you gesture from DS). Is it apropiate? it not uncommon in America to send valentines to friends, is the same here or they are reserved for "romantic" advances?

Clueless, I know, but I was already married when we moved to this country so no practical experience

helsy Sun 13-Feb-05 13:09:03

Mmm, may be seen as a bit odd - what about waiting until Easter?

Aniles Sun 13-Feb-05 13:15:44

I think it's a great idea! I work in a school and it wouldn't be seen as odd to receive chocs for valentines. I bet they'll think it's a lovely gesture

mishi1977 Sun 13-Feb-05 13:17:02

i would think it was odd i do think valentines is reserved for romance iykwim

NotQuiteCockney Sun 13-Feb-05 13:56:35

Do kids not buy valentines cards for each other here, then? In Canada, when I was growing up, it was normal to buy cards for all your friends, but I don't think I've seen the boxes of cheap (funny, cute) valentines day cards here for kids.

mishi1977 Sun 13-Feb-05 14:03:27

no only for someone u had a crush on etc...its not the norm but would be quite a sweet tradition..pity really

Cod Sun 13-Feb-05 14:04:32

Message withdrawn

Cod Sun 13-Feb-05 14:04:48

Message withdrawn

whymummy Sun 13-Feb-05 14:09:14

i think it'll be really sweet

Davros Sun 13-Feb-05 19:43:40

I sent in a bag of heart-shaped chocs and a card for each of the staff in DS's class (5). I will also get them easter eggs.

Chandra Mon 14-Feb-05 00:50:19