Talk

Advanced search

fish tank cleaning advice please (novice here)

(10 Posts)
bathmummy Fri 11-Feb-05 08:46:34

we have got a standard 37 litre tropical tank set up with plenty of fish, a bubble tube thing and a big filter. All is fine and well except over the last few days the sides are going green. Our algae eater fish isn’t bothered anymore and it looks horrible.

Is there a treatment I can put in the water to get rid of the green? (only on the tank sides, water is clear, fish healthy)
Can I get a pan scrub (clean of course) and just scrub at it while fish are in there? Is this better that taking them out and stressing them more? Should I do a water change and scrub while half empty?
Please advise me - don’t want to kill off DD’s treasured fish as each time one dies (thankfully not often) she is inconsolable.

CountessDracula Fri 11-Feb-05 08:59:50

By far and away the best thing I have found for this is a device that you can buy in any good fish shop, it's a long stick with a space on the end for a non-safety razor. You then scrape the algae off the glass with this. Forget those scrubbers they are useless.

Ensure your tank receives no direct sunlight and is not in too bright a place as this will encourage algae growth.

HTH

bathmummy Fri 11-Feb-05 09:06:23

thanks CD, will go and hunt for one of those stick things at our local garden centre this morning. Will not bother with the scrubbers now, pity there isn’t some kind of chemical that magically makes it all go, but that would be too easy

misdee Fri 11-Feb-05 20:10:21

there is a treatment called esha protalon 707, which is great, but if the algae is only on the glass when you're better off just scraping it away. get an algae magnet as well to keep the glass clear, and make sure if you have a light that you switch it off at night.

Newbarnsleygirl Fri 11-Feb-05 20:20:25

Algae magnets are brill.

Better still if it's a tropical tank you've got, buy a fish called a Plec if you don't already have one.