Talk

Advanced search

Ok so I've taken the plunge and applied for nurse training- Any nurses out there.advice needed?

(14 Posts)
chocolatemummy Wed 09-Jul-08 11:34:19

anyone out there any kind of nurse as I am not totally sure which branch of nursing to go for and could do with some advice

NigellaTheOriginal Wed 09-Jul-08 11:35:42

if you're not sure then Adult would probably be the route to go - then it is usually an extra 18 months on top if you want to do midwifery or mental health.
good luck with it.

chocolatemummy Wed 09-Jul-08 11:44:42

I am trying to decide between mental health or children's.
Thought if did mental health could go down the CAMHS route?

tiredemma Wed 09-Jul-08 11:54:18

You can do CAMHS from both childrens and MH nursing.

(Im training to be a MH nurse btw and have an interest (at the mo!) in CAMHS)

EdieMcredie Wed 09-Jul-08 11:54:38

Im a mental health nurse.

Tis great fun.

Stressful at times but that applies to all branches!

chocolatemummy Wed 09-Jul-08 12:02:09

hmm, yes this is good, I am more towards Mental health,
training + young child+working part time?
how is it?

tiredemma Wed 09-Jul-08 12:12:19

Im not going to lie and say its easy because it isnt.
I work part time over the weekend (18hrs) and have two children age 7 and 5, Im fortunate enough to have a wonderfully supportive partner and have so far on placement had fantastic mentors who know how hard it is to be a parent and study.

Have you applied for a degree or diploma?

chocolatemummy Wed 09-Jul-08 12:43:01

thats very encourageing, I have a job at the moment that I can do part time (bank) around the course, My husband is very supportive and after a bad couple of years with us both being made redundant and me especially getting totally disillusioned with it all, he has a nice secure job and my dd is starting school sep so i feel I can breathe and get on with something I HOPE I get on now.
what kind of financial support do you get