loader

Talk

Advanced search

alcohol gel in hospitals,

(21 Posts)
misdee Mon 31-Jan-05 21:51:41

oh it makes my skin so dry.

marj Mon 31-Jan-05 21:55:02

I am a nurse and the gel is a nightmare for my hands! They are really sore and dry and look like they belong to an 80yr old!!
Dont mind too much if it means nasties like mrsa are sent on their merry way though!

misdee Mon 31-Jan-05 21:56:16

what moiterisers can i use on it? (dh is on hospital so atm am using it twice a day)

lockets Mon 31-Jan-05 21:56:33

Message withdrawn

misdee Mon 31-Jan-05 21:58:01

they feel very tingly today, but the soap in hospital makes my hands hurt as well, and the gel is quicker.

colditzmum Mon 31-Jan-05 22:08:40

I am a care assistant and we use this. I hate it, it stings and makes my hands so dry. I have also seen people use it in place of hand washing, so not sure that it's doing what it's supposed to.

marj Mon 31-Jan-05 22:09:13

The soap is as bad as the gel. I use a moisturiser I got from the body shop morning and evening. It seems to help a bit!

misdee Mon 31-Jan-05 22:10:35

i usually stop by the loo first on the way into hosp[ital, wash my hands, then use the gel entering/leaving the ward. is that the correct way of doing it?

mears Mon 31-Jan-05 22:11:02

Our hospital provides moisturiser in wall dispenser too, as well as gel.

marj Mon 31-Jan-05 22:11:27

Yes it is. The danger is when people assume they can use it instead of washing their hands.

misdee Mon 31-Jan-05 22:12:40

no moisterisers anywhere mears, loads of alcohol gel tho.

marj Mon 31-Jan-05 22:14:13

There are no moisturisers in the hospital I work in. We are moving soon to a new place so I am hoping there will be something there.

RTKangaMummy Mon 31-Jan-05 22:14:49

when DSs were in neo natal we used hibiscrub

when we went in there a few weeks ago nurses had gel in dispenser on belt

marj Mon 31-Jan-05 22:15:17