Talk

Advanced search

art club for kids - do you think this is a good idea and how much would you pay if you did?

(59 Posts)
jeangenie Tue 15-Jan-08 20:43:30

I am a qualified artist but work outside of that field 4 days a week. I have been thinking about reducing the hours I put into my (very noncreative) job and trying to build a bit more creative time into my week. I can't afford to totally give up my salary though so have been thinking about setting up some kind of afterschool art club for primary students in order to bridge the gap. It's something I'd love to do and I have just been approached by a mum at school who is very eager to get her daughter doing something like this one day after school and knew I had been thinking about it. I am tempted to try it out for a while between now and half term, maybe just with a my friends daughter and couple of other kids (if I can get them) to see how we go.

anyway,
1. is this something you/your kids would be interested in do you think?
2. how much would you think was reasonable to pay for a 1.5 to 2 hour session per week with all materials included?

I'd appreciate all inputs

thanks

Lizzylou Tue 15-Jan-08 20:45:42

There is a class like that around here..I think it's about £3-4 (for an hour, I think), it is highly recommended by other Mom's but clashes with DS1's swim class.

I think you'll be inundated tbh.

MinkVelvet Tue 15-Jan-08 20:47:20

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

indiechick Tue 15-Jan-08 20:47:34

Are you anywhere near Bromley? My dd is always wanting to do modelling or painting and so often we don't any suitable materials or I don't have the inclination to clean up the mess. I'd pay up to a £5 a time to be honest.

rantinghousewife Tue 15-Jan-08 20:48:08

I think it's a great idea, would you do it in the school grounds and would you include materials?