Talk

Advanced search

Baby will not sleep!

(14 Posts)
warra Wed 26-Sep-07 15:35:23

This is my first time posting on Mumsnet, thought I would seek some advice from all you more experienced mums out there! My baby girl is 2 weeks old and today I cant seem to be able to put her down - she just wont sleep! She is only happy in my arms - wide awake! Have tried to let her cry out but that just made me cry! Any suggestions?

katierocket Wed 26-Sep-07 15:36:57

poor you warra, it's very tiring and upsetting when your baby won't sleep. I had 2 like this and it can be exhausting. However, she is really young so please don't worry to much at the moment and certainly I would say don't leave her to cry at this age. Do you have someone who can take her in the day for an hour or two while you rest?

Is it just at night she won't sleep or not in the day either?

mishymoo Wed 26-Sep-07 15:38:41

Try taking her for a walk in her pushchair - the motion might soothe her and send her to sleep. If you drive, take her out for a while. My DS always falls asleep in the car and I used to be able to transfer him to cot still asleep.

warra Wed 26-Sep-07 15:40:25

The nights are fine she feeds 2-3 hourly and settles really well, it is the evenings and just today that seem to be the problem!

bohemianbint Wed 26-Sep-07 15:42:43

DS was the same, he cried an awful lot in the early weeks. It will get better, slings/swaddling etc can really help. Is she hungry? Are you BF/feeding on demand? She will settle down but leaving her to cry will just stress both of you out.

Hope things improve soon!

ladylush Wed 26-Sep-07 15:43:17

Mine was like this. A sling worked well. Had to do the housework etc with him in the sling. Sometimes he would drop off and I'd catch a brief nap. Good luck. By the way he is 3 now and not much better - sorry!

warra Wed 26-Sep-07 15:48:45