Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Question for nurses

(13 Posts)
smurfgirl Tue 17-Jul-07 22:03:43

Boring question but important.

Do you let students prepare IV drugs - is it different if they are a CD or not?

Do you let students administer IV drugs - connecting the line to a venflon or giving it directly into the venflon with a syringe.

Cheers.

tiredemma Tue 17-Jul-07 22:04:51

Im a student- but we have been catagorically told by uni that we are not to touch/administer IV drugs.

MamaMaiasaura Tue 17-Jul-07 22:06:05

afaik students should not be adminstereing or dispensing/setting up IV. Once they have completeed training in sc & im injections and been signed off they are allowed to do these on placement under direct supervision.

ambercat Tue 17-Jul-07 22:06:44

I would let them make up the iv under close supervision but would not let them administer it.

smurfgirl Tue 17-Jul-07 22:08:12

Hmm.

I am on a placement where we really only do IV drugs (PACU), I do not administer but I regularly draw up - I have not injected a drug into a bag of fluid yet though (not sure of the technical name). I have set up PCAs etc but all under direct supervision.
The trust is ok with this.

Students in ICU have been told not to anymore due to RN error but I am worried about where I stand now. Hmm.

I give S/C I/M injections no problems.

canmummy Tue 17-Jul-07 22:09:22

I've not actually worked on a ward for a few years but no I would never have let a student do this. I'd let them watch and that's about it.

smurfgirl Tue 17-Jul-07 22:12:11

I have had trust training for IVs - and they said set up but don't give.

I do it all with a staff nurse watching me/telling me what to do/getting annoyed and flicking all the bubbles out for me.

Snaf Tue 17-Jul-07 22:14:25

I do draw up and administer, but under supervision. There is so much confusion about this, ime. I don't think we are supposed to until we've done the IV course - but we do.