Message withdrawn at poster's request.

MrsPsquiggle Fri 06-Jul-07 22:33:01

smurfgirl Fri 06-Jul-07 22:36:52

Oh sorry!!

You there?

smurfgirl Fri 06-Jul-07 22:38:36

Well I will ask away

I am a student nurse and for our first semester of 3rd year we can apply for a placement with the addiction liasion service working within A&E/AAU( MAU)/at risk GP service. We have to e-mail someone giving a rationale for this choice and 4 expected learning outcomes for the placement - 2 of which must be related to your personal and professional development (which is odd -surely all learning outcomes relate to these).

How does this sound? I am at the end of my 2nd year and doing adult branch if that makes a difference?

I would like a placement with the addictions liaison service, this is an area I am interested in having worked with people with substance abuse problems on ward and community placements. I would like to increase my knowledge of this area, particularly because it is a significant problem in Hull where I plan to work once I qualify. I think that sometimes people with substance abuse problems are not treated appropriately and so this placement would help my practice wherever I work.

Learning outcomes –
- Develop appropriate communication techniques when working with different groups of patients/clients using addiction liaison service
- Develop an understanding of harm reduction strategies in patients with substance abuse problems
- Gain an understanding into addictions and the health problems this can lead to for patients/clients
- Understand the work and different roles of the multi-disciplinary team in addiction services and the role of the registered nurse within this team.

Would appreciate any input/advice its quite competetive and I want it!!

MrsPsquiggle Sun 08-Jul-07 11:49:42

smurfgirl Sun 08-Jul-07 20:55:28

Thanks for the advice.