Talk

Advanced search

feeling like the worlds worst mom!

(9 Posts)
rachealmarie Sat 14-May-16 19:47:35

On Thursday after work me and my little boy decided to play outside, it was lovely so I half filled up a bucket of water to fill his water tray, I nipped inside to grab the sun cream (for about 20 seconds) when I came out my heart stopped as my son was head first in the bucket of water! I pulled him out, cuddled him and made sure he was safe. In hind sight it was such a stupid thing to leave him unattended but I didn't think for one minute something like that would happen. I'm a nursery teacher so risk evaluations and safety come naturally to me. Such a stupid decision! My son is fine he's been checked over and the hospital have reassured me that he was in the water no more than 5 seconds. I just can't stop crying. My poor baby must have been so terrified. I'm beating myself up and my other half is no help. Constantly telling me it is my fault and he has no sympathy and won't reassure me because I didn't think and I should have been watching him. All points I agree with but I'm driving myself insane with all the what ifs and the guilt. I just need some reassurance. I feel like a terrible mother, I live for that little boy and one stupid mistake could have cost me his life has anyone been in a similar situation and have any tips on moving on?

StealthPolarBear Sat 14-May-16 19:49:56

You poor thing. I dobut you'll find anyone on here who hasn't had a similar narrow escape.
I'd tell you mine but I'm just picking one of the many.
hoe old is your little boy?

rachealmarie Sat 14-May-16 19:51:37

He's one and a half! Such a tiny little thing, I've been up every hour of the night since just to make sure he's ok.

GrimmauldPlace Sat 14-May-16 19:51:47

Accidents happen. Don't beat yourself up about it. I have left my children playing with water in the garden before and didn't think anything of it. Your OH sounds like a twat. Ignore him.