Talk

Advanced search

re:I am a terrible mother - can I confess

(7 Posts)
cazzybabs Thu 06-May-04 22:48:49

Can I confess my sins today? Me and dd had a lovely time in the park and then decided to go home. While I was undoing her strap on my bike seat she climbed up onto a little bench and then fell off (only about half a metre) onto concrete. OMG - I have never seen so much blood in my life. I am a primary school teacher and can cope with other childrens blood but my own child's. DD was screaming, I was nearly in tears. Luckly we had ran into someone from dd's nursery at the park (if he reads mumsnet - thank god you where there). Luckly all she had done (All ) was bang her nose, but it looked terrible. And I just keep thinking of all the other things she could have done falling on the concrete. Then after my friend had calmed me down and wiped dd's nose I had to cycle home with all the cars looking at me like did I know my daughter was covered in blood. And her, crying and then every so often showing her good nature by saying "moo cows look" and "yellow car" etc. Anyway for the rest of the evening I couldn't look at her because her face was still a bit bloody, her nose swollen and still leaking tiny bits of blood diluted with snot.

Please forgive me - or are you calling social servcies as we speak???

nerdgirl Thu 06-May-04 22:58:32

I think we've all been there and done that Babs! OK, maybe not with park benchs and bike straps - maybe it was escalators and shopping bags or scissors and the phone or countless other dangers and distractions that take our attention for a fraction of a second.

So reassure yourself that you are not alone and worry that it is not the last time you felt that sickening feeling in your stomach!