Talk

Advanced search

help with funeral costs

(10 Posts)
OfCourseImAlwaysRight Sun 25-Jan-15 21:39:17

i all, a family member of dh has died. His dms brother, her and the other siblings need to apply for help for the funeral costs, on the form it states that if any siblings are not in receipt of x y & z benefits then help cannot be given.

What happens if one of the siblings is not in receipt of these benefits but also has no income- is a kept housewife in other words.

Does this mean that the help will not be given? As although she is not in receipt of benefits she also is in receipt of no income.

Can anybody please advise

Thank you

FishWithABicycle Sun 25-Jan-15 21:55:04

I have no knowledge or experience, but I would imagine that the theory would be that anyone able to live without recourse to any benefits (whether by being kept or any other reason) is better able to scrape together the necessary funds for a basic no-frills cremation than those who are needing benefits to survive. So I think the application probably won't be successful.

But I don't know. Maybe the system is kinder than that.

OfCourseImAlwaysRight Sun 25-Jan-15 22:07:38

That's what I was thinking, but the rest of the siblings are in receipt of benefits so if the application is turned down then they are going to have to pay part- that they will not be able to afford, as is the aunt who isn't receiving anything therefore making it her dh who will have to pay her portion.
Will advise them to call citizens advice I think.

Thanks for your input fish smile

FishWithABicycle Sun 25-Jan-15 22:24:15

if the application is turned down then they are going to have to pay part

That doesn't necessarily follow. They can't pay what they don't have. An only-child not in receipt of benefits would be expected to deal with it.

Is there no assets at all from the deceased?

Was the deceased a member of a union or any kind of other group that might be applied to for assistance?