Talk

Advanced search

Would you re-use stuff stored in attic ???

(40 Posts)
twiglett Mon 08-Mar-04 21:08:56

message withdrawn

Tommy Mon 08-Mar-04 21:13:35

I'm not a doctor but surely you can't get a chest infection from sleeping under a dusty duvet?
What about if you shower the Moses basket to get the dust out?
Or, are you allowing your Mum to get to you again, Twiglett?

twiglett Mon 08-Mar-04 21:16:34

message withdrawn

WSM Mon 08-Mar-04 21:18:47

Honestly Twigs, your bl***y mother....

I'd just get the hoover out with the attachments for the moses basket wicker tbh. I should think that so long as the fabric dressings for both the basket and the car seat have been freshly laundered then there is little to be concerned about. Give the basket a good hoover and a decent airing before redressing it and inserting baby.

suzywong Mon 08-Mar-04 21:20:36

Ask her to stump up for it and spend the money on a massage for yourself

PipBeckett Mon 08-Mar-04 21:20:58

I agree with Tommy, reuse it and ignore your mum. Give everything a good hoovering and wipe down with antibax. It will be fine. I reused everything with my ds2 and they had been in the loft for five years.

GeorginaA Mon 08-Mar-04 21:27:05

Good hoovering, a good wash and a new matress in the moses basket will be fine (at least I very much hope so as we have done exactly the same thing!!!)

Kayleigh Mon 08-Mar-04 21:31:07

oh for goodness sake. What is your mum on ?!
Like others have said, give the stuff a good clean and air and it will be absolutely fine.

Jimjams Mon 08-Mar-04 21:34:09

errr your mother is mad!!!! DS2 survived being clothed and contained in attic stored clothes, bedding and moses baskets, cots - everything!

prufrock Mon 08-Mar-04 21:50:16

I re-used my little brother and sisters moses basket that had been stored in the attic for over 21 years (did get a new mattress though). She is talking rubbish twiglett.

miranda2 Mon 08-Mar-04 22:05:13