Talk

Advanced search

Childcare for one day a week? Best option?

(17 Posts)
Alittlebitrestless Fri 14-Aug-09 05:16:03

I am due to return to work for one day a week. (I am a teacher and just want to keep my hand in). A family member is able to look after my ds for the first few months and then I will need to find childcare when he is about 18 months old.

We have looked into finding a child minder and found it difficult to find someone. I have been to see several nurseries and found one I like. However I am worrying that this will be hard for my ds to cope with for just one day a week?

Has anyone got any experience to share? What have other people done when they have needed child care for such a short amount of time per week?

(I have posted this in the childminders section as well)

Many thanks

Lilybunny Fri 14-Aug-09 05:34:54

My daughter goes to nursery for two days a week and it has worked out really well. Children are so adaptable and once they are familiar with a particular environment most don't seem to have any difficulty in settling. He might enjoy some of the things on offer at the nursery, particularly as he will be toddling by then. See if your nursery offers a settling in period so that you can spend some time at the nursery with your lo. It might reassure you about how he will be while you are away.

Alittlebitrestless Fri 14-Aug-09 05:41:35

Thank you Lilybunny. It is great to hear other people's experiences. I think that working one day a week will be good for me (have no family nearby and find some parts of maternity leave a bit lonely) but am just so worried about doing the right thing for my ds.

purepurple Fri 14-Aug-09 07:17:00

I work in a nursery and at the momment, a few children do just one day a week, as parents have cut their days due to the recession.
They seem to cope fine.

Alittlebitrestless Fri 14-Aug-09 07:36:32

Thank you, purepurple. It is good to have different perspectives.

nurseryvoice Fri 14-Aug-09 14:30:37