Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Loud and crazy room for 3 year old. Time to leave nursery?

(6 Posts)
Greatfun Sun 19-Oct-08 00:58:30

DD has been at nursery since she was 6 months and she is now 3. She seems to love nursery and we have always been happy. However, I am starting to have doubts. The pre school room is so loud and full-on. It just feels like the change in staff ratio (1.8? for over 3s from 1:3? for under 3s) is creating chaos. Most of the kids are boys and every time I go in there one of the 2 NN is prising one boy off the other. DD is very irritable when she gets home. I am seriously thinking of taking her out and doing part child minder and part pre school (she gets 2.5 hours per day from local school from Jan). I've never used a child minder before and TBH wasnt keen for various reasons before but this room is just mad. I would hate to be in there all day. Am I being stupid or should I just follow my gut feelings and move her? I could then use the pre school daily and ac hild minder for the 2 days that I work (also have a 1 year old).

Saturn74 Sun 19-Oct-08 01:02:53

If she's been happy up to now, it might be worth raising your concerns with the nursery manager as a first step.
the room doesn't sound well managed at all, and it should be providing for the needs of all the children.
It might be that the rules and boundaries need tightening up, and the problems are solved quite easily.
if you don't get satisfactory answers, and things don't change though, then moving your DD seems like the only option.

Skramble Sun 19-Oct-08 01:06:00