Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

How to get a breastfed baby ready for nursery?! Naps and bottles are a nightmare!

(8 Posts)
ellieandevie Wed 14-Dec-16 13:57:26

Hi everyone - total newbie here! Couldn't find a thread that covers this...

My lo is 8 months and is going to be starting nursery in a month. She's breastfed and I'd like to continue with it in the evenings and night around my work. So during the day she would have expressed milk from a bottle/cup (trying to avoid formula yet if I can).
My health visitor has told me that she's unlikely to take a bottle from me when she knows she can have the real thing - but there's no one else around to try it for me. She's a chunky baby and HV said that she won't starve, so long as she doesn't dehydrate and has wet nappies she'll be OK.
I've tried bottles and sippy cups, water and expressed milk, sat in highchair, on my lap, lying in bed and she hardly takes anything.
Normally, she's only breastfed before a nap where she nurses to sleep, and sometimes again straight after. I'm struggling to find an alternative way to get her to sleep without nursing and when/how to give her expressed milk. She gets so frustrated!
She eats solids but hardly any of it actually makes it inside so her main nutrition and food is still milk. So worried that she'll just hold out and go hungry and only sleep through sheer exhaustion.
Any tips/experiences very very welcome!!
Thank you xxx

AChanceAtSchool Wed 14-Dec-16 23:06:19

You probably won't like this answer, but the thing is, your little one will simply adapt. In my experience, you won't be able to get her to take EBM from you via any other means than the old-fashioned way!
But that doesn't mean she isn't capable of telling you apart from other people. She will understand that others don't BF her, and she will take milk from them eventually.