Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Saturday nurseries!

(14 Posts)
sheilla Thu 06-Aug-15 19:05:59

Been looking for a while for a nursery anywhere in Waltham Forest that opens on a Saturday. I finally have and I'm the only parent that wants the space therefore they obviously cannot open just for one child!

I'm really disappointed and quite shocked as I thought a lot more people would want Saturday places. I still have to find another nursery or a really good child-minder who would do 7.5 hours on Saturdays.

addictedtosugar Thu 06-Aug-15 19:17:21

I'm not aware of any nursery's who do weekend opening. It can be very limiting for single parents, as more and more people work longer hours, and places are open at the weekend. Everyone round here uses family if/when shifts fall lates/nights/weekends. Sorry.

insancerre Fri 07-Aug-15 10:24:51

I'm a nursery manager and I don't know any nurseries that open on a Saturday
You may have better luck with a childmnder

ProudAS Sat 08-Aug-15 13:35:40

Might one of the nursery staff be able to do some Saturday baby sitting for you?

Kafri Wed 12-Aug-15 22:41:27

It absolutely amazes me that nurseries don't open at weekends yet with the way work is for a lot of people these days.
Don't get me wrong, I don't want to offend nursery staff and its not that I think they should open weekends but it seems every industry is opening 7 days a week but there is next to no childcare options for weekends unless you can find a childminder who does it.
I doubt it'll be long before some of the 'chain' nurseries decide to open.
A nursery local to me has a hugely inflated daily rate to accommodate shift workers in the weeks I I dread to honk what they'd charge for a weekend...

Allotherusernamesweretaken Fri 14-Aug-15 21:15:47