Talk

Advanced search

Looking at Nurseries and Clueless

(10 Posts)
melliebobs Wed 19-Sep-12 13:34:17

Looking at nurseries this week for dd who will be 9 months when she will start full time in December. I know a lot of our decision will be based on the staff and their rapport and the general feel for the place. But what specifically should we be asking about? I've never done this before and don't want to leave thinking 'god I should have asked that'

So far all I can think of are staff ratios, administering medication (daughters on 2 lots n don't want to be taking time out work to do it!) and whether they will support us with BLW ie lettin her feed herself or not n not worrying that she smeared/left some of it! Oh an what childcare vouchers they take.

Surely there should be more than that!

pocketslug Fri 21-Sep-12 20:47:27

Hello,

I am also looking into nurseries and it seems to be a minefield! I found this link though which may help you.
www.childcaredirectory.co.uk/howtochoose.htm
Good luck.

bevelino Fri 21-Sep-12 21:33:39

Good luck with your search for a nursery. As part of your research be sure to observe the nursery from outside and watch the children coming and going and ask yourself whether they look happy and eager to go inside. Also observe the nursery unobtrusively during the day after parents have left and note when toddlers are outside. The children need to be heard playing happily and you should hear friendly adult voices interacting with the children. When looking at the staff, think about whether you will be happy leaving your child with them and do not be afraid to ask questions about the care provided (they are not doing you a favour). A good nursery will be happy to reassure you. Nurseries are often recommended by friends and other parents but it is important to carry out your own research.

melliebobs Fri 21-Sep-12 21:46:19