Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Finding out about whether you have secured a place a nursery for your child

(3 Posts)
Lepidoptera Tue 16-Aug-11 11:43:47

Hi there,
I'm new to Mumsnet & this is my first post.

Our DS is 9 & a bit months old now. We began looking at nurseries in January 2011.

We registered at one nursery in February 2011 for a full-time (5 days a week) place starting in October 2011 when I go back to work full-time. Several of our friends have had their children there & are exceptionally happy. This nursery says they operate on a first come, first served basis for places. So, I inquired when I would find out whether or not we had a place for our DS. They said, 'July or August timeframe.'

Based upon that comment (since it is so close to when we do actually need full-time childcare!), we then decided to register at a second nursery (again, recommended by other friends) in April 2011. We registered for a full-time (5 days a week) place starting in October 2011.

Well, we actually prefer the second nursery. And the Principal there told us that in order to secure DS a full-time place we may need to start him in September 2011 instead of October. We said we were not averse to that.

It is now mid August and we have heard ABSOLUTELY NOTHING from either nursery in respect to the status of whether or not our son has a place.

I called the second nursery (our preference) a few weeks ago & left a very pleasant and detailed (i.e. all of my contact info. clearly stated) message on their answerphone indicating that I'd like to know the status. To date I have received no call back. I realize they are busy, etc. but 2 minutes to return a phone call?

My husband has begun to ring them to see if he makes any more progress. He actually spoke to a human this AM & she said she couldn't tell him as there was a power cut, but would tell him when the power was back.