Talk

Advanced search

Bruises on dd

(9 Posts)
Mondaybaby Mon 11-Jul-11 13:11:38

My dd, 10 months old, goes to a nursery 4 days a week. It seems very good and the baby room staff seem really caring and my dd appears to be very settled there. But 2 weeks ago she had a bruise on her face at the end of the day which was not there when I dropped her off and was not something that happened at home. I didn't mention it or ask about it at the time.
Today dd has a bruise on her leg which is new (I am a nurse so I know what a new / old bruise looks like). I asked one of the baby room staff if they knew how she had done it and she replied that she had noticed it when changing nappy but had not been aware that my dd had had a fall or done anything to cause it at nursery. She said otherwise she would have done an accident form. My dd seemed a little quiet but was very playful and did not appear to have been crying but that is hard to tell. I am worried as this is the 2nd time there has been bruising with no attempt to offer an explaination and it has not happened at home. Bruising like that would definitely cause my dd to cry. I don't know what to do about this. Should I do anything about this? Do nurseries report every bump and bruise? Surely they should have noticed this happening and I expect that accidents will happen. It is the fact that they haven't mentioned them to me that is worrying me........

sparklyjewlz Mon 11-Jul-11 16:54:25

I think this is worrying too.
I'm not sure what you should do so I am bumping this.

coolio2011 Mon 11-Jul-11 19:01:35

While I know that it is very common for children to get bruises - paticularly babies when they are becoming more mobile, I also know that very rarely is a bruise caused without the child crying. Therefore, any one of the practitioners looking after your DD should have noticed this occuring.

Standard and expected practice in nurseries is as follows:
- they witness the accident and/or injury