Talk

Advanced search

Newly pregnant - Excited! Nervous!

(9 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

amzq87 Thu 30-Nov-17 09:08:28

Hi everyone! Newbie here having had her first positive pregnancy test - we’ve been trying for a few months and after my period was late, I did the test! According to calculators, we’re around 4w5d gone :-)

At the moment I’m feeling fine apart from a slightly wishy washy tummy but I want to know if there is anything I should be looking out for or do/not do in these first few weeks before the midwife appointment.

My sister suffered a miscarriage around this time last year when she was 9 weeks and I’m scared about the same thing. Want to make sure I do everything right to minimise the risk, even though I know these things sometimes happen.

Much love all!

Brettgirl Thu 30-Nov-17 14:22:36

Congratulations! I can't offer any advice I'm afraid, I'm in the same boat, took test yesterday and it's a yes! Just wanted to say I understand the anxiety too xx

Brettgirl Thu 30-Nov-17 14:23:25

Meant to say I'm 4 w + 6 d so very similar! X

BertieBotts Thu 30-Nov-17 14:29:14

Congratulations! And welcome to mumsnet smile

You must be due around July? If you look in the list of topics, under 'becoming a parent' there will be a topic called ante-natal clubs. These threads are often really supportive and nice to join to chat with others at a similar stage to you.

If you're new to mumsnet I would advise you to lurk (read without posting) on many of the topics to get a feel for them first. Though Pregnancy seems to be more forgiving.

It's a lovely site and I really like the community. Some feel a bit abrasive but I don't find that at all.

amzq87 Thu 30-Nov-17 15:52:29

Congrats Brettgirl!! Hope all goes swimmingly with your pregnancy! So exciting isn't it?!? There were tears last night and giggles and a few "oh my days!" From me and the other half!