Talk

Advanced search

Joined today!!!

(17 Posts)
Durney2014 Fri 04-Nov-16 11:03:52

Hi, I've just this minute joined Mumsnet and I've posted one topic this morning, so I'm still learning how to use it. I'm hoping this will give me the help when I need it, as I work full time I don't get to any groups so don't have the support from other moms.

I also don't know the right terms and what they are form - can anyone else : what is DD etc?

Lizwilliams Fri 04-Nov-16 15:38:36

Hi I'm also new today

Scoose Fri 04-Nov-16 15:45:05

Hi welcome to Mumsnet grin
Dd - darling daughter
Ds - darling son
Dh - darling husband
Dp - darling partner
Dsis - darling sis (and so on)
Odfod - oh do fuck off dear
Taat - thread about a thread (frowned upon)
There a loads more but you will work them out as you go along

ErrolTheDragon Fri 04-Nov-16 15:45:19

Welcome! Here is the handy List of Acronyms, without which many threads are incomprehensible.

ErrolTheDragon Fri 04-Nov-16 15:47:15

And here are the Talk Guidelines

Because MN is not pre-moderated, it's a good idea to take a look at those.

legotits Fri 04-Nov-16 15:49:39

Start in the nice places and not AIBU.

It gets a bit daft in there sometimes and it's better to get a feel first.

Classics is good for any in jokes.

smile

JayneAusten Fri 04-Nov-16 22:53:38

I'm new too! Welcome.

suZAN2154 Thu 10-Nov-16 04:50:29

Im new just getting used to everything looking around

K1Dx Thu 10-Nov-16 19:27:50

Can Dads join? Should I leave hmm

LiviaDrusillaAugusta Thu 10-Nov-16 19:30:15

I'm not even a parent (nor will I ever be, thankfully!) - in fact there are loads of non parents and a fair few men so you're fine K1

LiviaDrusillaAugusta Thu 10-Nov-16 19:32:42

Spend some time looking round the site before you jump in too deeply - get a feel for it. AIBU can be vicious. We don't do Hun, hubby or kisses at the end of posts grin

And you can swear as much as you like - no need to asterisk the rude words.... grin

Welcome and have fun!