Newbie! ...am I allowed on here if I'm just trying?

(14 Posts)
CarrieWed Sun 14-Aug-16 01:26:47

Hi, I'm new on here (obviously), & I don't know if I'm in the right place; because I'm not pregnant - just a little hopeful.
I've felt like I need an outlet and a bit of support - no matter what happens.
I guess I'm hoping to find it here.
I've had rather a tough day - didn't know it was possible to cry for 20 hours straight, but as it happens I've discovered it is; who'd have thought it? ...and I might not be done yet...
Anyway, if it is ok for me to be on here, I'd like to ask for some advice on the lingo - well, the acronyms to be more precise?
Like I said, I'm new to this world, and I don't understand things like 'AF' for example - although I'm sure it's something really obvious and I'm just being thick!
Please - anything you can think of that's commonly used (no matter how easy you think it might be) lay it on me.
And if I'm not in the right place, it's ok to tell me to fuck right off.
PS I only typed 'fuck right off' because I heard that swearing was actively encouraged and got you 'in'... 😕 ...and are emogies allowed? 🤔

PurpleDaisies Sun 14-Aug-16 01:34:36

You can be here if you're not s mum. Plenty of us don't have kids. There are men here too.

The main rule is not to be an arsehole. You won't go far wrong if you're nice.

Text speak is hated. Don't call people "ladies" or "girls". I'm not a fan of emojis except for the official mumsnet ones but I think that's because I'm a grump.

There's a page which explains all the acronyms. If you google "mumsnet acronyms" it'll come up.

Dandelionandfizz Sun 14-Aug-16 01:36:15

Welcome grin

http://www.mumsnet.com/info/acronyms

I'm hoping that works. It should help.

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Dandelionandfizz Sun 14-Aug-16 01:39:44

'Hun' doesn't go down well here either.

PurpleDaisies Sun 14-Aug-16 01:40:25

And kisses are frowned upon to. Xxx

PurpleDaisies Sun 14-Aug-16 01:41:34