Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Help needed - all wraps suddenly leaking badly on toddler

(10 Posts)
nellymac Mon 06-Jul-09 21:50:11

Hi
I have not posted on here before but did a search and couldn't find a similar post so hope some cloth expert will be able to help me.
I have been using cloth nappies on ds (21 months) since he was about 4 months, we have a wide variety (!) of nappies but the wraps are mostly ME airflow and Nature babies poppery ones. They are not that old and still fit him well but suddenly they are all leaking really badly. It doesn't seem to be at the seams but through the material. I have always been careful to wash them on a low temp, with a small amount of non-bio powder and to let them dry on the clothes horse, so I don't think they are damaged. do they just wear out?
Should I just give up on cloth and switch to disposables, add even more boosters to the nappies, replace all the wraps or what? is there anything I can do to make them waterproof again?? I am in such a dither about this, I don't want to spend a fortune replacing everything if DS ends up potty trained in a few months or if it can be resolved by some simple means!
Sorry for the long post, hope someone can advise.
thank you!

toolly Mon 06-Jul-09 21:56:54

I'm not an expert, ( but I too use ME wraps) but I did hear the sometimes PUL wraps can be made waterproof again if your briefly (10mins no more) put them in the tumbledrier. It has worked for me when they've inexplicably started leaking for no apparent reason.

MrsBadger Mon 06-Jul-09 22:20:47

they do just wear out - one of my second- (third? fourth?) hand MEs just gave up the ghost - even the drier trick didn't work.

Bin and check out boocoo bargains.

nellymac Mon 06-Jul-09 22:21:49

Thanks so much Toolly, it's definitely worth a try. Much appreciated!

Flibbertyjibbet Mon 06-Jul-09 22:37:58