Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Question for BabiesEverywhere re potty during meals (other contributors welcome of course)!

(11 Posts)
MiniMarmite Wed 27-May-09 14:27:11

BE, I --lurked on-- read some of your threads/contributions on EC earlier in the year and I've been reading the 'potty training' advice found in The Baby Whisperer books.

Having given it some thought I've been allowing DS to use a potty since he was about 8 months old (he's now 9 months) but I'm not specifically trying to potty train him (having taken your point that EC is communication, not potty training).

We have generally found this to be very positive and he already knows what the potty is for and can 'go' if he is sat on it. I'm not able to recognise his need to wee signals yet and he is not continent if he needs to go and is not offered the potty.

*Anyway, my question is*, what do you do if DC needs to use the toilet during a meal? DS needs to do a poo during at least one meal per day. Initially I took him down from the highchair and sat him on the potty but I found that (as well as being quite tricky and messy) he found this a bit annoying. I've stopped doing it as I only want him to have good potty associations.

Babieseverywhere Wed 27-May-09 15:22:10

This is just guess work, I am no expert at this stuff just a mum...

I reckon a big bit of using a potty for a baby is the sitting upright bit. This seems to put pressure on the bladder/gut to get a result, as such.

I find my 9 month old DS (in a pause at the moment) will equally wee/poo when sat on a potty a toilet a bumbo or his highchair. But he will crawl to me and ask if he isn't sitting.

In your situation I would sit him on the potty/toilet before the meal for a couple of minutes with a book or toy and see if he'ss poo before hand.

MiniMarmite Wed 27-May-09 18:56:25