Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Been given a pile of prefolds and don't know what to do with them

(9 Posts)
kateyk Mon 20-Oct-08 21:05:20

Hello, I am new to cloth nappies but have already spent hours every night reading these pages! my dd is 4 months old and i have just started putting her in the modern baby popins and also itti bitti d'lish, which i really like. also tried tots bots with motherease wraps. I like the nappies but she looks ridiculous in the baggy wraps so am selling them already. I have just been given a huge pile (about 20) of old prefold nappies -lovely white cotton ones measuring 48cm x 34cm -and am wondering what to do with them. can someone persuade me they are worth using and if so how?? I tried folding them and fanning them at the top as per twinkle ontheweb's guidelines and just didn't really get it. compared to my popins they seem very ungainly and bound to leak. would i be better buying some pocket nappies and using the prefolds to stuff them? But don't they come with their own innards anyway? very confused. maybe I will use them for cleaning cloths! sorry, that was very long winded.

LynetteScavo Mon 20-Oct-08 21:07:27

Even if you don't use them as nappies they will come in very usefull; for placign on changing mat/wiping up sick etc. My youngest is 3, and I'm still finding uses for them!

thisisyesterday Mon 20-Oct-08 21:09:14

i have a few that I use for stuffing pocket nappies.
some people get on ok with prefolds, but I think if you're happy with the nappies you have already you're unlikely to find prefolds better, or even equal to them. that's just my opinion though!

most pocket nappies don't come with inserts, so you could certainly use trhem for that

kateyk Mon 20-Oct-08 21:36:23

thanks, what's the best pocket nappy to try? hopefully one that looks nice too!

returnofrusmummy Tue 21-Oct-08 11:37:21