Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Pocket or two-part nappies?

(42 Posts)
bitofadramaqueen Mon 22-Sep-08 22:01:53

After a few false starts, I've just got my 2 month old DS in cloth nappies. He's currently in size 1 bamboozles with fleece liners and I thought I should start researching options for when he's grown out of those.

I'm a bit of a novice though and would appreciate an advice on advantages/disadvantages of two-part nappies vs pocket nappies. I know a lot of it is down to personal preference but interested in other people's views.

Sorry if this is a topic that has been done to death previously! Once I can figure out what type of nappy might suit I can start researching individual brands...

bitofadramaqueen Tue 23-Sep-08 15:23:09

shameless bump!

DeJaVous Tue 23-Sep-08 15:33:12

Size one Bamboozels are fabulous. The size twos are crap you'd never know they were supposed to be the same nappy, whatever you do don't get them.

My vote would definitely be for two-parters all the way. Bamboo is fantastic and although it's slow to dry the pros outweigh the cons by a long way. If you stick with two-parters and are happy with bamboo, I can highly recommend the Bambeasy by EasyPeasy.

Imo the best nappy stashes are built from a variety of different nappies for ditterent occasions.

Big hemp or bamboo nappies are slow to dry but fantastic for nights or long journeys.

Pre-stuffed pockets are great for the nappy bag when out and about, or for when leaving baby with someone else (or baby's dad hmm grin).

Terries are fast drying so good as back up emergency nappy (though I use terries 90% of the time myself).

I you get a large quantity of one type of nappy and then find you don't get on with them it can be very disapointing.

Try a nappy site like kittykins and get a few of the ones that appeal. Then you can always get more of your fav.