Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

cloth nappies - help!!

(40 Posts)
Shelly679 Wed 06-Aug-08 11:44:00

I need help, advice anything please. I have been using cloth nappies for about 6 months but then my dd broke out in a really bad case of thrush so on advice of doctor switched to disposables for a few weeks till it cleared up. I put all of her nappies through a 60 wash a couple of times with a little bit of washing powder and napisan then through with nothing. Everything was cleared up and I put on a reusable, by the next nappy change it was a bit red but then next one it nappy rash had broke out. Put all nappies through another couple of washes and went back to disposables. Yesterday I put cloth nappies on again and same thing happened.
I really dont know what to do as I really like using the cloth and don't want to give up. Any advice would be gratefully received.

moondog Wed 06-Aug-08 11:45:51

They sometimes get nappy rash.Why would disposables full of chemicals be better?

moondog Wed 06-Aug-08 11:46:01

Noone ever recommends cloth for when babies with disposables get nappy rash, do they? hmm

Shelly679 Wed 06-Aug-08 11:47:37

I know what your saying but its everytime I put the cloth nappy on her the rash breaks out. What am I doing wrong?

moondog Wed 06-Aug-08 11:54:24

Do you use apaper liner or fleeceliner?

Shelly679 Wed 06-Aug-08 11:56:04

Usually a paper liner that can then be flushed down the toilet. Would have occasionly used the fleece ones at night time

BigBadMousey Wed 06-Aug-08 11:56:49

What nappies are you using?

Are you using liners? Fleece ones might help as they will help keep her bottom dry.

I would start using a fleece liner if you aren't already and, for now, change her quite frequently - some babies bottoms have to get used to being in a different nappy.