We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Reusable nappies. I'm new to this. Do I need boosters and liners?

(13 Posts)
HappyCatandIzzy Tue 24-Jul-07 11:01:47

After a lot of research I'm thinking of getting Motherease One-Size nappies as my first venture into cloth nappies. Can anyone tell me if I need both boosters and liners, and how do I decide on disposable or washable liners?

Thanks

lailasmum Tue 24-Jul-07 11:06:30

Erm boosters up the absorbency if you need it. You will at some point. But maybe not straight away. Liners keep you baby's bum dry and make laundering your nappies easier, you do need them.

You could alternatively try the Popolini One Size version of this nappy that comes with the booster and works out cheaper.

lailasmum Tue 24-Jul-07 11:09:22

disposable liners are good for the early sticky pooh weeks but don't keep babies bum dry, they are also an ongoing cost. Fleece liners keep babies bum drier, are cheaper in the long run and I prefer them.

claireybee Tue 24-Jul-07 11:59:26

I found fleece liners best for both the very runny newborn poo (it just ran off paper ones) and solid poo once weaned. Disposable liners were good for the in between stage where the poo is still quite runny but is also sticky and thicker than the newborn poo cos it is a nightmare to try and get off either nappies or liner. The inbetween stage lasted forever with my dd unfortunately as she didnt eat for ages but we are finally back on the fleece liners-yay!

Dodaday Tue 24-Jul-07 12:05:56

I always use disposable nappy liners, but I think special boosters are a waste of time and money, when you can simply use two nappies, by pad folding one inside the other as necessary. My DS is a very heavy wetter, and this is absolutely essential for his night nappy.