Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Real nappy virgin! (lots of advice needed)

(9 Posts)
pinkmagic1 Fri 13-Jul-07 10:28:26

I have decided to take the plunge and switch to reusables for my 8 month DD but am a total novice and need lots of advice!
I have been looking at options and am leaning towards pre-folds, mainly because of there reasonble price compared to other reusables. What is the best make, how many and what do I need? Also where is the best place to buy everything? (I've been looking on E-bay).
Where does everyone buy there liners and nappy soak? I can't seem to find either in boots and my local one has a huge baby department.
Sorry for so many questions but really am a total novice.

nearlythere Fri 13-Jul-07 10:38:01

don't bother with nappy soak! smells pretty foul and is unescessary- use a few drops of tea tree in a dry bucket!

Right shopping list:
4 wraps minimum (especially with pre-folds)
between 15 and 20 nappies
disposable liners
washable liners if you are feeling brave
washable wipes- save a fortune! get some cheap flannels then sling em in the wash with the nappies
lidded bucket
laundry mesh for lining the bucket
tea tree oil

FlameDelacour Fri 13-Jul-07 11:14:40

I would say a few more wraps with prefolds - my children just leak out the sides

Other than that, NT's list is everything you need.

For disposable liners, its normally easier to buy them online - most places do free shipping if its just liners.

derah Fri 13-Jul-07 11:16:29