Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Environappy consusion.

(9 Posts)
Dannyboy Thu 22-Feb-07 21:29:25

ok, I'm a newbie so apologies if this has been already discussed to death, but we seem to have tried all types of reusables, biodegradeable disposables etc and the bottom line (scuse the pun!) is that we prefer disposables, but want to source the most environmentally frendly nappies out there at the best price. My question is, does anyone agree that Moltex doesn't actually state they are biodegrabeable at all, merely that they use an unbleached cellulose core. ok, so that ticks boxes of course (I think!) and they're generally considered to be the most env friendly disposables, but it doesn't actually biodegrade quicker than any others does it? 'Nature babycar' claim to be 70% bio-degr, but I wonder how this compares against Pampers or Huggies? Perhaps they are 60% bio-degradable?? Any thoughts? (btw, are dad's allowed on mumsnet?)

NappiesGalore Thu 22-Feb-07 21:35:57

hi DB. yes dads allowed.
dont know the answers to any of your questions... but am curious (in an oh so tired of even looking at nappies, could happily live without ever spending another second thinking about them, sort of way) to hear the answers...

Loopymumsy Thu 22-Feb-07 21:39:03

Message withdrawn

issyissyissy Thu 22-Feb-07 21:39:36

I used nature boy nappies as they were 70% but am not sure what the others were, just thought they cant be much otherwise they would be advertising their own %. Not good logic really but seemed ok at the time!
I used the bags too and they certainly seemed to start degrading qicker than any other bag, normally before they got to the dustbin.
I am also new to mn but think anyone can join, it is supposed to be a parenting site rather than just mums.

makesachange Fri 23-Feb-07 09:08:39

Hi,

Pampers and Huggies are around 30% biodegradeable.