Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Do boys need to point IT down?!

(12 Posts)
pegasus Tue 23-May-06 22:14:52

I have no experience of potty-training boys but will be needing to train ds1 in the summer. Do I need to teach him to point his willie down with his hand or does it do that on its own?!

gigglinggoblin Tue 23-May-06 22:15:44

think 'hose pipe'

sarahlou1uk Wed 24-May-06 10:33:58

Yes. I have just trained my ds and he will not stand to wee, he insists on sitting on the seat. Even those seats that have a little rise at the front aren't high enough sometimes, so he puts a finger on his wee-wee and points it down the toilet. You could encourage him to stand and wee - my ds will quite happily stand and hold in the shower but not at the toilet. The other option is not to use a potty seat but to hold him over the adult toilet so that his legs are wide apart and gravity will do the rest. Just make sure that you are out of harms way!!!!!

SoupDragon Wed 24-May-06 12:44:09

Absolutely. Need to ensure it's tucked down on all occasions!! Even that's no guarantee.

foxinsocks Wed 24-May-06 12:48:00

if he's sitting down, he definitely needs to point it down (sometimes can be easier with those potties with a higher bit in the middle at the front)

if he's standing at the loo with the seat up, he can probably get away with just making sure it's pointing in the right direction as long as he's standing right by the loo

once he's a bit older (and a bit more willy proficient) he might start holding it to wee

annoying thing is that when they pull their pants down, their willies have often been screwed up so if they forget to straighten it out, wee can shoot in any direction!

MeAndMyBoy Wed 24-May-06 12:49:50

Yes!!!!! and tucked inside the potty or toilet

Just have plenty of disinfectant wipes to hand

Bozza Wed 24-May-06 12:49:55